top of page
yucca in snow_edited.jpg


Our History

The origins of the North Central New Mexico Economic Development District (NCNMEDD) can be traced to the Public Works and Economic Development Act of 1965. This Act enabled the formation and designation of economic development districts like NCNMEDD, created the U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA) and provided grants, financial assistance, planning and coordination to alleviate unemployment and underemployment in economically distressed areas and regions.

With funding from EDA, NCNMEDD was formed in 1967 under the authority of the New Mexico Joint Powers Agreement Act. NCNMEDD’s Joint Powers Agreement establishes membership for counties and municipalities within an eight-county region. Each member pays annual dues to supplement and match federal funds. While NCNMEDD remains rooted in its core mission of economic development, it has grown to undertake other programs including regional transportation and the Non-Metro Area Agency on Aging.


What We Do


The North Central New Mexico Economic Development District  serves the eight county region of  Santa Fe, Los Alamos, Rio Arriba, Taos, Colfax, Mora, San Miguel, and rural Sandoval counties. Our primary functions include: 

  • Coordinating regional economic development collaboration. 

  • Developing and maintaining a five-year Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) approved by the U.S. Economic Development Administration, in collaboration with federal, state, local and tribal partners. 

  • Planning, coordinating and implementing local and regional strategies and projects our eight county region. 

  • Supporting the planning and financing of key infrastructure projects to catalyze private investment. 

  • Providing technical assistance to support and reviews of EDA and other grant applications for this region. 


Santa Fe County.jpg
Colfax County_edited.png
Rio Arriba County.jpg
Village of Chama.jpg
Village of Edgewood.png
Village of Pecos.jpg
Town of Taos.png
City of Santa Fe.jpg
Eagle Nest logo.jpg
Los Alamos County.png
Taos County.png
Village of Cimarron.jpg
City of Espanola.jpg
Town of Red River.png
City of Raton.png
wagon mound logo.webp
Mora County.jpg
Sandoval County.png
Village of AngelFire logo.jpg
Village of Eagle Nest.png
City of Las Vegas.jpg
Town of Springer.jpg
Village of Questa.png
Village of Maxwell.jpg

Village of 

bottom of page